Domestic Violence Service Center - a path to safety and a shelter from abuse

Computer Safety

Computer Safety Information 

It is virtually impossible with modern technology to eliminate all traces of your online activity. Every type of device including desktops, laptops, tablets, and mobile phones leaves an internet history. If you suspect your internet use is being monitored, the best option is to use a safe computer, such as the public libraries, a trusted friend’s, or possibly a work computer. If you are going to continue online activity on a device that you suspect is being monitored, it is essential to take precautionary steps to limit your chances of detection.

Below are instructions for deleting history and cache dependant on the internet browser or device that you are using. It is also important to note that a completely empty internet history can sometimes draw unwanted suspicion. A helpful way to avoid this concern would be to browse a few regularly visited sites (such as checking the weather or searching for recipes) after deleting your web history.

Clear Your History/ Cache (Desktops and Laptops)

In the browser toolbar at the top right select the menu  button. From the drop down menu, select Tools and then Clear browsing data. A window will pop up with the first option titled “Obliterate the following items from” which allows you to select how far back in your history you would like to delete. If you would like everything to be deleted select beginning of all time. The second option allows you to choose which data you would like to delete. Select all of the boxes that apply to the information you want to delete including Browsing history, Download history, Cookies and other site and plug-in data, Cached images and files, Passwords, Autofill form data, Hosted app data, and Content licenses. Lastly, select Clear Browsing data. 

In the menu bar at the top right of the screen select the tools button. From the drop down menu select safety and then delete browsing history. Select all of the boxes that apply to the information you want to delete including Reserve Favorites website data, Temporary Internet Files, Cookies, History, Download History, Form Data, Passwords, and InPrivate Filtering Data.

In the menu bar select Reset Safari. From the menu, select the items that you would like to remove, and then click Reset. From Safari 5.1 and up, selecting Remove all website data will cover both cookies and cache.

In the browser toolbar at the top right, select the menu  button. From the drop down menu, select options. A window will pop up with menu bar running across the top, select the Advanced option in the right corner. Below that is a row of tabs, select the Network tab. Find the “Cached Web Content” section and select Clear Now. Lastly, select OK.

Clear Your History/ Cache (Android / iOS)

In the browser toolbar select Menu. Next select More, and then select Settings. Under “Privacy settings” there is a list of options. Select Clear cache, Clear history, and Clear all cookie data and then select OK to accept.

From the home screen, select Settings, and then select Safari. At the bottom of the screen, select Clear cookies and Clear Cache. Select Confirm. Open the Safari browser again. At the bottom of the screen, select the Bookmarks icon. In the lower left section of the screen, select Clear and then select Clear history.